Hip Arthroscopy: Post-Op Exercises

I’ve gotten a few questions regarding what exercises I am doing even when access to a gym is limited, so in this post, I will finally be answering those questions!

I began the following exercise regimen about three or four weeks after surgery.  At the time, these exercises were the only things I was doing with my hip, but I continued to do them throughout the rest of physical therapy, and I still try to do them at least once every day.  Usually I do them when I wake up, before I even get out of bed – they’re that easy (at least when you’re not immediately post-op)!

Please note: I am not a medical professional, so this post should NOT be taken as advice.  I am merely providing details of my own experiences.  You should talk with your doctor or surgeon before beginning any exercise program.

1) Heel Drags – lay on your back with your legs straight, then drag one heel towards your butt.  The end position should look like this:

Heel Drags

Heel Drags.
Photo credit: carrotsncake.com

2. Leg lifts – lay on your back with one leg straight and the other bent (foot on the floor), and slowly lift your straight leg into the air:

leg lifts

Leg Lifts
Photo credit: everydayafs.com

3. Side leg lifts – same as above, but on your side:

side-lying-leg-lifts

Side Leg Lifts.
Photo credit: stayfitbug.com

4. Quad stretch – lay on your stomach and stretch your quad by pulling your foot toward you:

Quad Stretch

Quad Stretch.
Photo credit: warrenkingmd.com

5. Side lunge – stand with your feet slightly more than shoulder-width apart, and lunge to one side:

side-lunges

Side Lunge.
Photo credit: stronger-slimmer.com

And that’s all!  It doesn’t take more than a few minutes, but my hip feels good afterwards, so I keep doing it.

Are you recovering from surgery for FAI or a torn labrum, or considering it?  I’d love to hear how you’re rehab is going – feel free to post a comment or question below!

2 thoughts on “Hip Arthroscopy: Post-Op Exercises

  1. Pingback: Hip arthroscopy recovery: week 3 | My Pseudo Bionic Hip

  2. Pingback: Hip Arthroscopy: 4 Months Post-Op | Another FAI Blog

Leave a Reply

